I needed a break from writing and working and sorting out all the stuff of life so I went looking for a good book to read – and found one, Traditional Witchcraft for the Woods & Forests by Melusine Draco.

I’m a forest woman (I’m also a mountain and moorland and seashore woman too!) but I need trees, forests, woods and plants or I don’t live, I merely exist. As I’ve been slogging my way through a load of accounts and bills, ordering winter fuel, fixing workshops and blah, blah, blah, I thought a book on trees would bring the breath of life back into me. I was right!

Draco is a very good writer. Her style involves you, she doesn’t preach or talk down to you and she doesn’t sound like an academic lecture. It’s like you’re sat with her and she’s telling you about it, and it’s all from her own experience and her own heart. She knows her stuff too, old lore is something I suspect she imbibed with her mother’s milk and she certainly breathes it in from the air around her, you can tell by the way she writes. She gives us the lore easily and clearly, and connects it to each tree as well as giving us exercises and meditations, seasonal work, work with wands and a magical celebration.
I’m really enjoying this book and my next venture with Draco is likely to be her Witchcraft for Fields and Hedgerows.

If you enjoy her books too you may like this page on Traditional Witchcraft too.

This book on the Woods and Forests will be staying with me, close to hand, and I’ll be recommending it to my students. It will work very well alongside my own book on the tree lore I grew up with, Trees of the Goddess.