this is a fabulous blog …

Art and the Caledonian Forest23rd October 2015, by Kyle Noble.This summer we welcomed artist, Kyle Noble, as an intern with Trees for Life. Taking full advantage of opportunities to visit and explore the Caledonian Forest, Kyle soon discovered strong connections with his artistic practice… This summer I had the fortunate opportunity to join Trees for Life as their Photo Library Intern. My time was spent looking at and organising thousands of photographs taken by the staff at Trees for Life and by professional photographers. I soon realised my task was rather daunting, however on a daily basis I found relief and enjoyment as I learnt about the ecology of the Caledonian forest and discovered new pinewood remnants which I would later visit and explore. The ethos of Trees for Life to restore the Scottish wilderness resonates with my art practice, and in my work I create an alternative historical narrative describing an ancient magical Aberdeenshire. “…I felt like a giant, roaming through beautiful stunted bonsai bog pinewoods, whilst looking down upon rainbows somewhere between Cairn Fiaclach and Loch Amair. I was at peace on a pine studded knoll as warm scented air blew through the lilac trunks.” My art is concerned with generating a radical contemporary myth, depicting a sacred archaic landscape full of spiritual energy, and its eventual demise through the affects of human civilization beginning with the dawn of agriculture. Over the summer I used my Northern location to frequently visit the Glen Affric area, often camping at Cannich to extend my time. I’ve been fascinated by the unique ambience which I have experienced in different places. My desire to get off of the main paths as quickly as possible showed me the micro world of hummocked ground flora, the soft lush leafy birchwood and the lofty majestic pinewood.

Source: Art and the Caledonian Forest