I put this up on the biodynamic site first but thought some of you might enjoy it from here too.

Biodynamic Gardening: Elen Sentier

10 Survival Skills Your Great-Grandparents Knew (That Most Of Us Have Forgotten)

http://images.fineartamerica.com/images-medium-large-5/blacksmith-the-smith-mike-savad.jpg Blacksmith’s forge like the one in our village

Not quite what you normally think of when somebody mentions gardening or biodynamics but I think this is really important. Like the author of the article, I know lots of these skills. My parents, uncles, aunts and the people in the village taught me all the skills he talks about …

  1. Growing our own food
  2. Animal Husbandry
  3. Butchering an animal
  4. Food Preservation
  5. Blacksmithing
  6. Basic Carpentry
  7. Basic Mechanical Repairs
  8. Herbal Medicine
  9. Horseback Riding
  10. Hunting

19758_462365105477_3585981_n Margaret (BD friend) leading her hens home of an evening

http://image.shutterstock.com/display_pic_with_logo/952678/98447618/stock-photo-old-hen-house-on-wheels-98447618.jpg the sort of hen-house Uncle Perce used

I wasn’t too brilliant at blacksmithing and carpentry, slightly better at mechanical repairs and reasonable at butchery! I was (and still am) a damned good gardener. I was good at animal husbandry. One of my first pocket-money jobs was to…

View original post 409 more words