A bit before Cirencester on fast stretch of the A417 the banks both sides of the carriageway was absolutely covered with cowslips, and this for maybe three or four miles. It was fabulous! I’ve not seen them like that since childhood, fifty years ago, it’s wonderful to see it now.

We had a beautiful run to Kent. After crossing the M4 at Swindon we went down via Marlborough, Andover and the east side of Salisbury Plain; then the Downs, West Sussex, Mid Sussex, East Sussex and finally Kent. Sensing the land as we passed through her, her differences and she expresses them in each county, was delightful and illuminating. I love it, we both (Fiona and me) love it. I adore being in and with the land.

We got diverted up to Ashdown Forest, not planned but good – most things the land gets us to do are good, unless we sulk! I have to be this way on a Ray Mears course in July, I think I’ll stay a few days and walk there then. Pooh country … I’ll go up to the place at the top of the forest, try counting the trees: and sit with Wol at night, listening, learning, laughing, loving. Here’s to Being …