Great Tit chicks

The great tits fledged this morning … but there’s always one, ins’t there :-)?

There were four chicks, three came out easily but not the fourth. Admittedly, I’d been worried as the pot stands on its end with its narrow mouth pointing to the sky.

Great Tit feeding chicks

I was making the Troy town labyrinth and heard little chink on the pottery, went to look and there s/he was, hunched down but hopeful. I turned the pot sideways and out s/he flew. Not only that but s/he managed to fly up off the lawn where s/he frist landed and into the privet hedge. I got out of the garden, hearing lots of alarm/distress calls from the parents who had seen the last chick come out and now wanted to get to it. From my study windo I could see the parents on look-out posts – the rose-wigwam and the top of the nut-feeder – calling and looking round. after some searching I think they all found each other. Will keep you posted :-).

I don’t have any goods pix of my own but found these on Google images – the chicks is from the Telegraph, the parent feeding is from thechuckler.com. They’re Great … pun intended 🙂

Elen Sentier
… behind every gifted woman there’s usually a rather talented cat …
writer artist gardener shaman
My Blog
___________________________________________
Contact Me WordpressFacebookYoutubeMySpaceTwitterAmazonLinkedinFlickr
Celtic shaman – Elen Sentier Oak Man